Baby · Motherhood · Parenting

A Letter to My First Born…

JUST SURVIVING MOTHERHOOD-3We spent 40 weeks together with you tucked in close to my heart, and after 6 hours of labor, we met for the first time. You were the most beautiful thing I had ever seen. A head full of hair, big eyes, and a strong cry. You were just perfect.

I remember being in the hospital on the day we were going home. Reality was sinking in that I was going to have to figure out this whole motherhood thing, and you started to cry. I had this overwhelming feeling that I couldn’t do it. It was heartbreaking to hear you cry. I picked you up and held you, and you calmed down. You just needed me.

It turns out, I needed you too. I needed you to make me a softer, more compassionate person. I needed you to expand my heart and my imagination. I needed you to teach me patience and unconditional love.

You are growing every day and learning so many new things. You are inquisitive, smart, and brave. You are funny and sweet. Some days, I just can’t believe you are mine. I am so lucky. Every day I think “I’m going to miss this” but I look forward to tomorrow’s triumphs and amazing memories.


Plant Therapy Essential Oils

motherhood quote

Leave a Reply

